Cricket and tennis
Jul. 10th, 2020 10:26 amLet’s hope we get a full day’s cricket today. I was really annoyed on Thursday that it rained at the Aegeas Bowl thirty miles away but not here. Yesterday, we were living in gloom here and it rained (far too gently) all afternoon, yet not at Southampton. Cricket is so strange without a crowd watching.
Has anyone else been watching Old Wimbledon? I’ve seen some of the evening programmes and found them quite fun. I don’t think it’s just nostalgia that makes me think tennis was more entertaining (especially the women’s game) when they played with wooden rackets and skill was more important than power.
Has anyone else been watching Old Wimbledon? I’ve seen some of the evening programmes and found them quite fun. I don’t think it’s just nostalgia that makes me think tennis was more entertaining (especially the women’s game) when they played with wooden rackets and skill was more important than power.
no subject
Date: 2020-07-10 10:11 am (UTC)Yes, I've been watching the old Wimbledon and very enjoyable it is too :) I don't enjoy the women's game these days, all power and grunting and little in the way of finesse.
no subject
Date: 2020-07-10 10:31 am (UTC)I can't atand the grunting!